Faworki

Fat Tuesday and Fasting

I just came across a blog post Putting the ‘fat’ in Fat Tuesday: Coconut Pancakes & Dark Treacle Sauce by thingsmybellylikes.wordpress and loved the recipe. This post made e realize that Fat Tuesday and Ash Wednesday are this week! I was brought up in a Roman Catholic (although not very religious) family. As an adult I never associated myself with any religion and have not gone to church or followed any ‘rules’ or ‘observances’ of the RC church.

The post I mentioned above however inspired a reason of sorts or an excuse to justify some sort of  lent-like activity that I’ve been pondering.

Traditionally Fat Tuesday refers to the practice of the last night of eating richer, fatty foods before the ritual fasting of Lent, which begins on Ash Wednesday. During Lent, many of the faithful commit to fasting or giving up certain types of luxury as a form of penitence.

Faworki (aka Chrusty)

All of this brings back memories of my mom making ‘faworki’, a yummy home-made pastries sprinkled with icing sugar. Deep fried of course! Here is a Faworki recipe by a Polish blogger.

Fasting

Fasting has definitive benefits and many kinds of dietary restrictions have been called ‘fasting‘. To me fasting means not eating at all just drinking water. This is a very strict fast and only those who are in good health should attempt it. Other ways of ‘fasting’ or giving your system a break include the master cleanse, juice fast, veggie & fruit only diet etc.

Rather than fasting, for the lent period, many people vow to give up a certain type of luxury such as abstinence from eating meat, smoking, etc. I’m thinking about undertaking some sort of abstinence but haven’t decided what to do yet… Are you doing a lent-like ‘fasting’ or abstinence? Any suggestions as to what I might want to give up? I don’t eat a lot of meat (but do need it for keeping up my iron levels), I don’t smoke or drink alcohol… Maybe just giving up a meal each day? hmmmm…

2 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday and Fasting

Leave a Reply

