rice grains

Wild Rice for the Family Day Weekend

It’s the Family Day weekend in Ontario. The weather is mild and, as I’m typing this, it’s snowing. I wish it had snowed much more this winter… I was hoping we would get a chance to enjoy the snowshoes we purchased last (pretty much snowless) winter. We don’t own a car so it’s not so effortless to drive up north to find more snow (is it there?).

Walk

So, this weekend we will enjoy walking with our dog – I do not consider this an exercise as our dear canine is very elderly and slow. We are planning to also do a hike, perhaps tomorrow in High Park, at a faster pace (no dog).

Wild Rice Salad

wild rice salad

I am also making a Wild Rice salad to enjoy with friends and family. The first wild rice salad I had made a while back was with mango and red peppers. Since then I’ve made many variations of this salad; most recently for Christmas – with orange-infused cranberries and pecans.

Today I have some feta cheese and baked sweet potatoes so I’ll add them in and some onions with olive oil and lemon juice. I love the combination of sweetness of the potatoes and salty feta.

I encourage you to try wild rice if you haven’t – it’s delicious and nutritious.

Cooking Wild Rice

Wash 1 cup uncooked wild rice thoroughly. Add to 3 cups boiling water, salted to taste, in a heavy saucepan. Return water to boil and stir. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, 50-60 minutes or just until kernals puff open. Uncover and fluff with table fork. Simmer five additional minutes. Drain any excess liquid. For chewier texture cook less time. Yield: 3-4 cups of cooked wild rice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

